About Us


Information about CZF’s organizational history is coming soon! Check back to learn more.

Board of Directors

President – Lee Weishar

A Senior Scientist with the Woods Hole Group since 1989, He has more than 40 years’ experience in the fields of oceanography, coastal engineering, sediment transport, ecological restoration, environmental impact assessment, and project/program management. Prior to joining the Woods Hole Group, he was employed by the USACE Waterways Experiment Station (now ERDC).  Dr. Weishar specializes in coastal engineering and wetland/marsh restoration and the integration of biological, ecological, and hydraulic data into wetland restoration designs to ensure that the design will meet the restoration objectives.

Vice President – Michael Walther

Michael was reared on Air Force bases primarily in Louisiana, Texas, and Florida, where Michael got “sand in his shoes” and has resided since 1978 after completion of his M.S. in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin. From 1978 to 1984, Michael worked with A.V. Strock & Associates – one of the first coastal engineering firms in Florida; Michael began as a staff engineer and advanced to head up the marine structures section and ultimately a branch office. In 1984, Michael founded Coastal Tech and served as President until 2014, when the firm was acquired by G.E.C., Inc. As Vice President of Coastal Tech-GEC, Michael provides quality assurance for the firm’s coastal engineering services in Florida. Michael is intimately familiar with the design, permitting and construction of beach nourishment and marine structures. Michael is a certified Diplomate in Coastal Engineering by ASCE’s Academy of Coastal, Ocean, Port and Navigation Engineers and is a registered professional engineer in Louisiana, Alabama, Texas, and Florida.

Treasurer/Secretary – Aram Terchunian

Terchunian is a nationally-renowned coastal geologist and environmental scientist with First Coastal Corporation in Westhampton Beach, NY specializing in helping owners and municipalities enhance and protect their coastal assets. Aram’s specialties include coastal resiliency, wetlands management, nature based shoreline stabilization, coastal regulatory compliance and endangered species. A widely recognized expert in the national media, Aram provides a unique, practical perspective on how to prepare for and survive super storms and their devastating effects on our coastal communities. Aram received his BS in Environmental Science and Resource Management/Geology from Lehigh University and his MS from the University of Delaware.

Board Member – Gordon Thomson

Thomson is an Associate Principal and Senior Coastal Engineer at Baird & Associates. He has designed, permitted and constructed a wide array of beach nourishment, marsh restoration, and coastal structure projects along the Atlantic and Gulf coasts. Thomson has developed numerous reports and federal documents combining coastal principles and numerical modeling. He is a licensed professional engineer in eight states and is accredited by COPRI as a Diplomate in Coastal Engineering. He received a B.Sc.Eng and an M.Sc.Eng from Queen’s University, Canada.

Board Member – Gary Jones

As Director for the County of Los Angeles Department of Beaches and Harbors, he is responsible for 30 miles of non-contiguous coastline in Los Angeles County, including Marina del Rey, the largest small craft harbor in the U.S. Jones has 25 years of experience in real estate, development and urban planning. Educated in Great Britain, he received his B.S. degree in Biology from Southampton University and his M.S. degree in Real Estate Studies from De Montfort University in Leicester.

Board Member – Tom Richardson

Tom Richardson is Executive Director of the DHS Coastal Resilience Center of Excellence.  He is an engineering graduate of The Citadel, the University of Miami, and the International Institute for Hydraulic and Environmental Engineering in Delft, The Netherlands. In 2009, he retired from the U.S. Army’s Senior Executive Service as Director of the Engineer Research and Development Center’s Coastal and Hydraulics Laboratory and began his current position at Jackson State University. He has been a Director of the American Shore and Beach Preservation Association for the past 13 years and of the Coastal Zone Foundation for the past 6 years.

Board Member – Kate Gooderham

Kate Gooderham, APR, CPRC, is president of Gooderham & Associates, Inc., a Fort Myers, Florida consulting firm established in 1986, specializing in issues management, public information campaigns, grassroots organizing, governmental lobbying and monitoring, coastal permitting and strategic planning. 

Gooderham is the past chair of the Lee County Coastal Advisory Council and is past vice chair of the Lee County Conservation Lands Acquisition and Stewardship Advisory Committee.  She is a former member and vice chair of the Lee County Disaster Advisory Council (DAC). In 2021 she retired as managing director for the American Shore & Beach Preservation Association.

Board Member – Erin Hague

Erin Hague, CEP, ENV SP is Director of Tetra Tech’s Center of Coastal Services in Southeast Florida. She has more than 25 years of shoreline protection and coastal restoration project experience throughout the US. Her expertise is in identifying design solutions and strategies for coastal and ecosystem restoration, natural resource management, biological resource assessment, threatened and endangered species management. She has served as a technical expert for numerous small and large-scale projects in the coastal US and is proficient in managing multi-disciplinary projects involving geotechnical and biological field investigations, coastal planning, engineering design, stakeholder coordination and permitting.


Read a copy of our full bylaws here.

%d bloggers like this: